of the Year

National Volunteer Week is a time to celebrate people doing extraordinary things through service.  Established in 1974, National Volunteer Week focuses national attention on the impact and power of volunteerism and service as an integral aspect of our civic leadership.  The week draws the support and endorsement of the president and Congress, governors, mayors and municipal leaders as well as corporate and community groups across the country.


Each year in honor of National Volunteer Week, HandsOn River Region joins with the Junior League of Montgomery to co-sponsor the Volunteer of the Year Awards. These awards give agencies and individuals the opportunity to show appreciation to those special volunteers who give so generously of their time, talent and energy to make our community a better place to live.

For more information, please contact us at

334-264-3335 or leslie@handsonriverregion.org.

04 14 16_Volunteers_0156
04 14 16_Volunteers_0156

press to zoom
04 14 16_Volunteers_0100
04 14 16_Volunteers_0100

press to zoom
04 14 16_Volunteers_0002
04 14 16_Volunteers_0002

press to zoom
04 14 16_Volunteers_0156
04 14 16_Volunteers_0156

press to zoom

Congratulations to the 2019 Volunteers of the Year

Congratulations to the 2019 Nominees for Volunteer of the Year

Youth Group Award Nominees

MPACT Electrical Group

Sidney Lanier JROTC Cadets


Adult Group Award Nominees

Archibald Quilters

Caring for Citizens of Alabama

Delta Sigma Theta Alumnae Group

Faulkner Law School Alternate Dispute Resolution Program

Food Bank Faves

Guardian Credit Union Corporate Group

Shaaban Court #126

Tau Rho Mu Christian Sorority

UPS Corporate Group



Adult Award Nominees

Syreeta Bailey

Kathleen Burr

Whitney Griswold Califf

Kimberly Cole

Sondra Cooper

Ronnie Doughty

Lorraine Harris

Thomas Merrett

Katie O’Mailia

Nekisla Robinson

Brian Smith

Gal Zeira

Youth Award Nominees

Daniel “Trey” Levon Lindsey III

Richelleng Ramirez Pieruccini

Theotis “TJ” Ringstaff

Atwood “Trey” Bullock Rush III


Senior Award Nominees

Susan Grant

Andrew Lindsey

Milt Livingston

Karl Olesen

Special thanks to our community partners for making this event possible: